Posted by: Farren | 20/04/2011

What does Passover mean?

I asked my Jewish friends on Twitter what Passover means.  It’s sort of a broad question, I know and without any real definition, it’s tough to answer.  Now I’m a properly raised Catholic, so I know all about the Exodus, Moses, and the Israelites last meal in Egypt.  I’m remembering more and more as I write this, in fact.  But I’m looking for more of a Jew’s perspective on this.

From what I remember, Passover is about the Israelite’s last night in Egypt.  Moses had already brought God’s wrath down upon the Egyptians in the form of nine plagues.  He confronted Ramses II and told him that if there were to be another plague, it would be by his doing.  Ramses decreed that the first-born male child of the Israelites was to be killed.  God sent his Angel of Death down and killed all of the first-born male children of Egypt, instead bringing upon them the tenth and final plague.  Knowing what was to happen, the Israelites were told to mark their door posts with lamb’s blood so the Angel would pass them over; hence the name Passover.  On their last night in Egypt, they ate a hurried dinner of unleavened bread and I am not sure what else.  Remember, I’m doing this all from memory.  It’s been quite a long time since I went to Church or watched The Ten Commandments, let alone read the Bible.

So, to my Jewish friends, my friends studying to become Jewish, and anyone who might read this, I’m asking you what Passover means.  A good friend of mine on Twitter supplied me with some links: Passover 101, more about the seder, theology/themes, which I do intend to read.  However, I’m wanting to hear from you and what your thoughts, ideas, traditions, and feelings are on the subject.  Also, if you have any friends who are Christian (and celebrate Lent, Palm Sunday, Holy Thursday, Good Friday, Holy Saturday, and Easter, or any other holiday for that matter) do you participate, observe, or acknowledge these days with them?  And do they do the same for your holidays?


Responses

  1. There’s more to the story than just… the story. In the haggadah, there’s a whole debate over when the holiday is celebrated (even though it lists specifically the 15th of Nisan in the Torah), as well as the actual severity of the plagues (whether it was face-value, 4-fold, or 5-fold). It even touches a bit on stuff leading up to the actual exodus, identifying what Laban did to earlier generations, and how stuff was divided up between Jacob and Esau. There are pre-formulated questions designed to prompt more questions, and lots of songs that might not seem on the surface to have anything to do with the rest of the holiday.

    In my family, we have a lot of traditions with particular melodies and foods. My mom was born after midnight on the second night, so we always have a cake for her. We also always have guests, both Jewish and non-Jewish, always reading the story in English regardless of who’s there. And then all the Hebrew parts are explained for everyone. We share lots of silly seder-related stories, and the first thing that’s read is always the parental message written in the front of mom’s book.

    As for the other thing… I’ve painted eggs with a friend once or twice when I was little, but I’ve never been to a church service at this or any time of year. It makes me feel all awkward inside. That being said, it’s hard to ignore those holidays while living in the United States.


Leave a comment

Categories